Honoring the philanthropists and fundraising professionals who inspire us

AFP Advancement Northwest recognizes a top fundraising professional as well as multiple philanthropy awards annually. The Professional Achievement Award is given at the Forum on Strategic Fundraising and honors someone who exemplifies the highest standards of ethics, achievement, and commitment. The Outstanding Philanthropy awards are given at National Philanthropy Day and recognize individuals, companies, foundations and other organizations that demonstrate a commitment to generosity in Washington.

2018 Professional Achievement Award Winner

Ray Li
Associate Vice President for Individual Giving
University of Washington

This year's award goes to someone whose work in the community goes beyond his "day job" and extends into the whole philanthropic community. In addition to building the development team at Neighborhood House and the international fundraising department at the University of Washington, Ray was a leading force in what became the merger of Northwest Development Officers Association (NDOA) and AFP Washington (now Advancement Northwest) into one voice for the fundraising sector in Washington.

Read more from Ray about his feelings on being the first person of color to receive this award and the importance of creating a strong personal network. 

Outstanding Philanthropy Awards

2018 Award Recipients

Outstanding Philanthropic Corporation: Superfeet
Outstanding Philanthropic Small Business: Phnom Penh Noodle House 
Outstanding Philanthropic Organization: Social Justice Fund 
Outstanding Philanthropists: Bob and Mary Ann Wiley

Outstanding Philanthropic Family: Bruce Nordstrom's & Anne Gittinger's Family
Outstanding Young Philanthropist: Makenna Schwab

Awards are given out at the National Philanthropy Day luncheon in November to celebrate generosity with the outstanding philanthropy award winners. You can learn who past award winners were and see videos of this year's winners too. Nominations typically open in May or June.

Past Professional Achievement Award Winners

2017 - Lee Heck, University of Washington
2016 - Janet Aldrich Jacobs, CFRE, CAP, 
Make-A-Wish Alaska and Washington
2015 - Mary Kaufman-Cranney
, The Nature Conservancy in Washington
2014 - Thomas W. Mesaros
, CFRE, formally The Alford Group (pictured at right)
2013 - Lynn Hogan, UW Medicine
2012 - Jane Ewing, Cornish College of the Arts
2011-  Robert W. Davidson, Seattle Aquarium
2010 - Susie Burdickformally Hearing, Speech & Deafness Center
2009 - Sonya Campion, The Campion Foundation
2008 - Terry Collings, Seattle Public Library Foundation
2007 - Laura Rehrmann, Group Health Community Foundation
2006 - Janet Boguch, Non-Profit Works
2005 - Michele Hasson
2004 - Stuart Grover, PhD, The Collins Group
2003 - Barry McConnell, Make-A-Wish Foundation
2002 - Lynn Schrader, CFRE
2001 - Susan Howlett, Consultant
2000 - Jacquelyn B. Ostrom, Third Sector Consulting
1999 - Mary Ann Ranta, Children's Hospital Foundation
1998 - Rodney Wheeler, United Way of King County
1997 - Ed Larson, Pacific Lutheran University
1996 - Rita Ryder, YWCA Seattle-King County
1995 - Jane Carlson Williams, The Seattle Foundation
1994 - Marlys Erickson, Market Foundation
1993 - Arthur Jacobus, Pacific Northwest Ballet
1992 - Marilyn Dunn, University of Washington
1991 - Edward C. Schumacher, Salmon Bay Associates
1990 - Doug Picha, Children's Hospital Foundation
1989 - Anne Farrell, The Seattle Foundation
1988 - Dale Bailey, Independent Colleges of Washington
1987 - Shirley Bushnell, University of Puget Sound
1986 - Pat Lewis, Camp Fire
1985 - Frank Minton, University of Washington

*Awardees are listed with affiliations at the time of each award was given.